Welcome to the Berthoud Historical SocietyUSA.Colorado.Berthoud.3rdStPano.Cropped

 Our Museums:

Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum

224 Mountain Avenue, Berthoud
Open Wednesday-Saturday

1-4 p.m.

McCarty-Fickel Home Museum

645 7th Street, Berthoud 

Open by Appointment


Come visit Berthoud!
We would love to see you.

Please consider helping the historical society by making a donation:


Berthoud Women Making a Difference: 1890 – 1945


Our new exhibit opening the end of March 2016 focuses on the role women played in helping to create our community. As soon as Colorado women obtained the right to vote in 1893, Berthoud women joined the town board of trustees, but this was just the beginning of their efforts to make a difference in the town of Berthoud. While many stories have concentrated on the pioneering settler women who created a home in the prairie landscape, this exhibit tells the story of the town women who spent their lives working to improve the conditions of the town and the lives of the people who called the agricultural town of Berthoud their home.

The exhibit runs through November 2016 and is located in the Carlson Building of the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum.

Dedicated to a rich rural heritage, the Berthoud Historical Society (est. 1977) discovers and preserves the history of the town of Berthoud, the Little Thompson Valley area, Colorado and the surrounding region.


Exciting events, the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum and the McCarty-Fickel Home house museum combine to educate and entertain members and visitors about the area’s original and ongoing development.

Berthoud, the original settlement of the Little Thompson Valley, is located in Northern Colorado’s Larimer County. The community is named after Capt. Edward L. Berthoud who engineered an extension of the Colorado Central Railroad route from Longmont to Cheyenne in 1877. Influential in the politics of the Colorado Territory, Capt. Berthoud never made his home in the community that now boasts a population of nearly 10,000 residents in the town and outlying rural areas.